PASSING ON KNOWLEDGE

The feeling of hopelessness should be replaced by the knowledge that one can take control
of their own life. We aim to create an environment where women are empowered and
provided with a realistic outlook so that they can independently rebuild their communities.
This is the only way to ensure organic and sustainable growth as well as integration into
existing social structures.

Bjeen Alhassan - Founder of TOK

Zanin Transfer

Zanin Transfer is the first officially funded project by TOK. Zanin is Kurdish and means knowledge - so Zanin Transfer is a direct reference to our name: Transfer of Knowledge. The project takes place in the war zone in north-east Syria.

The multi-layered conflict situation in Syria, which has been ongoing for over a decade, has led to the inevitable confrontation with violence, fear and war in all areas of public and private life. Nearly half a million people have been killed so far. Nearly 5 million people have fled the country since the conflict began in 2011, representing about a quarter of the population at the time. Another 6 million people are currently fleeing within Syria.

In the family system in Syria, it is primarily the men who provide the livelihood. However, many defy IS or take the risks of fleeing in order to catch up with their families - in the best case and after a long wait - by safe means. In both cases, women often stay behind and have to wait.

Association founder Bjeen Alhassan herself grew up in Rojava, Syria and was on the ground in the Kurdish part of Syria in 2021 and 2022. There she saw how the role of women has changed and what it takes to guarantee them self-confidence and financial independence. One of the factors was that women lack skills to perform computer-based tasks and such knowledge is not widely available and usually expensive.

This is where TOK's comes in and imparts professional knowledge Complementary to the already existing NGOs on site, whose field of activity is mainly the work against radicalization, TOK e.V. explicitly wants to reach out to the women and help them to help themselves and others. To this end, a place is to be created in Qamishli, the largest city in northeastern Syria, where women will not only receive basic help and knowledge, but also the motivation and perspective to become independent and self-confident.

The project includes courses for women to learn computer skills. This means that they are taught how to use the PC and the common programs. Computer skills are important for gaining a foothold in the labour market or climbing the career ladder.

Zanin Transfer was set up with ASO, an NGO already based in the area.

The first course started late 2023 and officially ended in February 2024. We will provide more details about the first course in the coming weeks.

The Zanin Transfer is supported by help alliance .

en_GB

WISSEN WEITERGEBEN

Das Gefühl der Perspektivlosigkeit soll durch das Wissen ersetzt werden, dass man sein eigenes Leben
selbst in die Hand nehmen kann. Wir wollen ein Umfeld schaffen, in dem Frauen gestärkt werden und
ihnen einen realistischen Ausblick geben, damit sie ihre Region selbstständig wieder aufbauen können.
Nur auf diese Weise wird ein organisches und nachhaltiges Wachstum sowie eine Einbettung in
bestehende soziale Strukturen gewährleistet.

Bjeen Alhassan – Gründerin

Zanin Transfer

Das Projekt Zanin Transfer ist das erste offiziell geförderte Projekt von TOK. Zanin ist kurdisch und bedeutet Wissen – Zanin Transfer nimmt also direkten Bezug auf unseren Vereinsnamen: Transfer of Knowledge. Das Projekt findet im Kriegsgebiet in Nordost Syrien statt. 

Die seit über einem Jahrzehnt anhaltende und vielschichtige Konfliktlage in Syrien hat in allen Bereichen des öffentlichen und privaten Lebens zur unweigerlichen Auseinandersetzung mit Gewalt, Angst und Krieg geführt. Fast eine halbe Million Menschen sind bisher getötet worden. Knapp 5 Millionen Menschen sind seit Beginn des Konflikts 2011 aus dem Land geflohen, was etwa ein Viertel der damaligen Bevölkerung darstellte. Weitere 6 Millionen Menschen sind zurzeit innerhalb Syriens auf der Flucht.

Das Projekt Zanin Transfer wird von help alliance gefördert.

Im familiären System in Syrien sind es vor allem die Männer, die für den Lebensunterhalt sorgen. Viele bieten jedoch dem IS die Stirn oder nehmen die Risiken einer Flucht auf sich, um ihre Familien – im besten Fall und nach langem Warten – auf sicherem Wege nachzuholen. In beiden Fällen bleiben Frauen oft zurück und müssen warten.

Vereinsgründerin Bjeen Alhassan ist selbst in Rojava, Syrien aufgewachsen und in 2021 und 2022 vor Ort im kurdischen Teil Syriens. Dort hat sie gesehen, wie sich die Rolle der Frau geändert hat und was es benötigt, um ihnen Selbstbewusstsein und finanzielle Unabhängigkeit zu garantieren. Eines der Faktoren war, dass es den Frauen an Kenntnissen zur Ausübung von computerbasierten Aufgaben fehlt und derartiges Wissen nicht flächendeckend und meist teuer angeboten wird.

An dieser Stelle setzt TOK an und vermittelt berufliches Wissen. Komplementär zu den bereits vorhandenen NGOs vor Ort, deren Aufgabenfeld hauptsächlich die Arbeit gegen Radikalisierung ist, möchte TOK e.V. explizit den Frauen die Hand reichen und ihnen dabei helfen, sich selbst und anderen zu helfen. Dafür soll in Qamishli, der größten Stadt Nordostsyriens ein Ort geschaffen werden, an dem Frauen nicht nur grundlegende Hilfe und Kenntnisse erhalten, sondern auch die Motivation und die Perspektive, unabhängig und selbstbewusst zu werden.

Mit finanzieller Förderung von der help alliance gGmbH der Lufthansa Group und in Kooperation mit ASO, einem bereits Vorort ansässigem NGO, wurde Zanin Transfer ins Leben gerufen.

Das Projekt beinhaltet Kurse für Frauen zur Erlernung von EDV-Kenntnissen. Das heißt es wird der Umgang mit dem PC und die gängigen Programme vermittelt. PC-Kenntnisse sind wichtig, um auf dem Arbeitsmarkt Fuß zu fassen oder auf der Karriereleiter weiter aufzusteigen. Die Kurse finden in einem Zeitraum von 8 Wochen statt, mit 4 Stunden die Woche.

Die gesamte Ausbildung umfasst folgende Inhalte:

1. Introduction to IT and the importance of computers in modern work

2. Operating systems, user interfaces, files, and folders

3. Microsoft Word for document creation and formatting

4. Microsoft Excel for data entry and basic calculations

5. Microsoft PowerPoint for presentations

6. Internet, email, and web browsers

7. Life skills: Effective resume writing, time management, communication, and basic project management

Im Januar 2024 schlossen die erste Gruppe Teilnehmerinnen erfolgreich die Ausbildung ab.

Erster erfolgreich durchgeführte Ausbildungskurs von Zanin Transfer

Previous slide
Next slide
de_DE